YOUNG ARMAGNACS & BLENDS

papolle-armagnac-horsdage

Bas-Armagnac Appellation d’Origine Protégée

Our Bas-Armagnacs are made exclusively from the distillation of wines made on the estate and have been produced following the traditional ancestral methods.

The Armangacs are distilled once in a continuous Armagnac still, and then aged in Gascony oak barrels in our cellar until bottling.

The winemaker composes each eau-de-vie using one or several vintages to design a complex, multifaceted and unique product.

For blends, the denominations (for example VSOP, 20 years old) refer to the age of the spirit, calculated based on the youngest eau-de-vie present in the blend. For example, in our 15 years blend, the youngest eau-de-vie is at least 15 years old and may or may not be blended with other slightly older vintages to create a complex final product to the liking of the winemaker.

line

Our products include:

3 Stars (or V.S.) : Minimum age 2 years. Very young eau-de-vie with little impact from the wood. Exploding with fresh fruit due to its young age and short oak contact. Visually, this Armagnac is pretty, blond, and pale.

V.S.O.P: Minimum age 4 years. This Armagnac is a blonde eau-de-vie well suited for those who may prefer freshness and discrete fragrances.

Hors d’Age: Minimum age 10 years. We create this Armagnac to be elegant, round, smooth, and balanced. This Armagnac has a feminine spirit that will delight those who wish to discover the wonders of Armagnac as well as those who already know it well.

15 years: Minimum age 15 years. This Bas Armagnac best expresses its character after being heated slightly in a glass in the palm of the hand. This older blend will seduce lovers of complex oak flavors.

20 years: Minimum age 20 years. A lovely Bas Armagnac at the prime age of taste. Impressive length in the mouth, with powerful aromatics and a firm character, this 20 years exhibits the pure spirit of the Armagnac.

25 years: Minimum age 25 years. A very well balanced Bas Armagnac at the peak of its expression. This Bas Armagnac best expresses its character after being heated slightly in a glass in the palm of the hand.

LES JEUNES & BLENDS (Assemblages)

papolle-armagnac-horsdage

Bas-Armagnac Appellation d’Origine Protégée

Nos Bas-Armagnacs, exclusivement issus de la distillation des propres vins du domaine, sont élaborés entièrement de manière artisanale en suivant des techniques ancestrales.

Distillés par simple chauffe dans un alambic Armagnacais (distillation en continu), puis vieilli en fûts de chêne gersois dans nos chais jusqu’à leur mise en bouteille.

Le système de l’Assemblage consiste à élaborer une Eau-de-Vie à partir d’un ou plusieurs millésimes. Le vigneron compose son produit, contrairement au millésime qui exprime sa personnalité pure sans aucune intervention extérieure.

Dans le cas d’un assemblage, les dénominations se réfèrent à un compte d’âge, calculé sur la base de la plus jeune des Eaux-de-Vie entrant dans l’élaboration. Par exemple dans notre 15 ans, la plus jeune des Eaux-de-Vie a au moins 15 ans, peut être assemblée ou non, avec d’autres Eaux-de-Vie légèrement plus âgées, afin de complexifier le produit final au souhait du vigneron.

line
3 Etoiles : Age minimum 2 ans. Eau-de-Vie très jeune et très peu marquée par le bois, explosive en fruits frais grâce à son jeune vieillissement ne permettant pas une extraction longue du bois. Visuel d’un joli blond pâle.

V.S.O.P : Age minimum 4 ans. Eau-de-Vie blonde, jeune, franche, destinée à ceux qui privilégient la fraîcheur, l’onctuosité, et les parfums discrets.

Hors d’âge : Age minimum 10 ans. On choisira ce Bas-Armagnac pour son élégance, sa rondeur, sa souplesse, sa longueur en bouche et son équilibre. Une Eau-de-Vie féminine qui ravira ceux qui veulent découvrir l’Armagnac aussi bien que ceux qui l’ont adoptée.

15 ans : Un Bas-Armagnac à chauffer longuement au creux de la main afin de découvrir toutes les subtilités de l’assemblage. Les amateurs de bois seront séduits.

20 ans : Age minimum 20 ans. Un grand Bas-Armagnac à la fleur de l’âge à déguster en toute tranquillité. Longueur en bouche impressionnante, aromatique puissante, avec un caractère bien affirmé, ce 20 ans est l’esprit pur de l’Armagnac.

25 ans : Age minimum 25 ans. Un grand Bas-Armagnac très équilibré à l’apogée de son expression. A chauffer longuement au creux de la main afin d’en profiter pleinement.